Speakers

Schedule

Day One Thursday, 7 February 2013

  • Registration

  • Marc Heiligers @rubyfuza Welcome

  • Konstantin Haase @konstantinhaase Ruby: Where Are You Going?

  • John Anderson @djellemah Do It Yerself, Rube

  • Break

  • Jesse Newland @jnewland ChatOps at Github

  • Chris Spring @autonomous Rack based web apps with JRuby and TorqueBo

  • Lightning Talks

  • Lunch

  • Aaron Kalin @martinisoft Hey Kid! Don't Copy That Floppy!

  • Garren Smith @garrensmith Developing multiple personalities to bootstrap your first product

  • Lance Gleason @lgleasain Dynamic Routing With Circuit

  • Break

  • Vicent Martí @vmg Unicorns Die With Bullets Made Of Glitter

  • Rory McKinley @rorymckinley Subprocesses, Threads and Fibers

  • Jacob Burkhart @beanstalksurf Living With Distributed Systems

  • Drinkup

Day Two Friday, 8 February 2013

  • Arrival

  • Renée De Voursney @gigglegirl4e Teaching Ruby for Fun and Profit!

  • Simon Stewart @simonstewart How Pet Projects Can Enhance Your Career

  • Break

  • Danish Khan @danishkhan Don't Be An A**hole

  • Stuart Corbishley @stucorbishley Abstracting a Service - A Case Study in Forward Thinking with SOA

  • Lightning Talks

  • Lunch

  • Terrence Lee @hone02 `bundle install` Y U SO SLOW: Server Edition

  • Ryan Lemmer @ryanlemmer Side-Effects Are Not Your Friend

  • Luke Randall @luke_randall CQRS

  • Break

  • Aslam Khan @aslamkhn Not Quite Object Oriented

  • Kevin McKelvin @kmckelvin Applying RSpec Best Practices

  • Kenneth Kalmer @kennethkalmer Reusing your frontend JS on the server with
    The Ruby Racer and/or Ruby Rhino

  • Leave for Dinner

Download the Program Guide (pdf, 2.3MB)

RailsBridge Workshop Wednesday, 6 February 2013

  • Registration

  • InstallFest The InstallFest is a set of step-by-step instructions for installing Ruby, Rails, and other important tools on Mac, Windows, or Linux computers.

  • Workshop A short introduction to using the Terminal and basic Ruby terminology. Begin project and learn about Git.

  • Lunch

  • Workshop Continue with the project and learn about resources, CRUD and controllers.

  • Cocktails

Amazon AWS Workshop Saturday, 9 February 2013

  • Registration

  • Workshop

  • Lunch

  • Workshop

  • Fin.

Venue

Strand Tower Hotel

Cape Town’s business centre is within easy walking distance from the Strand Tower Hotel.

The city’s many major tourist attractions, such as Table Mountain, Robben Island and the V&A Waterfront, are also within easy access from the hotel. Other notable landmarks nearby include the Cape Town International Convention Centre, which is just 2 kilometers away, and the Green Point Stadium, which was constructed for the 2010 FIFA World Cup. The stadium, which is 3.5 kilometers from the hotel, is now home to many other major sports tournaments.

View Map Find accommodation

Sponsors

Interested in sponsoring this event? Check out the prospectus and drop us an e-mail

Blog

View all posts